Science & Technology Australia is a company limited by guarantee with charitable status.

We operate under the direction of our Board, which has 8-11 Directors at any given time. Six Directors are elected by our membership, as is our President-Elect, every second year. The remaining Board Members are our President and our CEO, as well as up to two Board-Appointed Directors.

Office Bearers are appointed by the Board and include Vice President, Governance Chair, Financial Audit & Risk (FAR) Committee Chair, Policy Committee Chair, and Equity, Diversity & Inclusion (EDI) Committee Chair.


These sub-committees and working groups support the work of the STA Board and Executive
  • Dr Kathy Nicholson (Chair)
    Australian Centre for Machine Learning
  • Professor Mark Hutchinson
    Science & Technology Australia President;
    Centre for Nanoscale BioPhotonics
  • Kate McGeoch
    ARC Centre for Excellence in Exciton Science
  • Associate Professor Vanessa Wong
    Soil Science Australia
  • Dr Bek Christensen
    Ecological Society of Australia
  • Professor Adrian Barnett
    Statistical Society of Australia
  • Dr Marguerite Evans-Galea
    Women in STEMM
  • Diana Zhang
    Australian-American Fullbright Commission
  • Dr Jiao Jiao Li
    Early Career Researcher at University of Technology, Sydney
  • Dr Miloš Tanurdžić
    Genetics Society of AustralAsia
  • Dr Andrew Black
    Royal Australian Chemical Institute
  • Special advisor: Professor Les Field
    Royal Australian Chemical Institute
  • Dr Anita Goh (Chair)
    Australian Psychological Society & Women in STEMM Australia
  • Professor Mark Hutchinson
    Science & Technology Australia President; Centre for Nanoscale BioPhotonics
  • Dr Muneera Bano
    Computing Research and Education Association of Australia
  • Dr Erin McGillick
    Reproductive Health Australia
  • Associate Professor Sumeet Walia
    Australian Microscopy and Microanalysis Society
  • Dr Susanna Cramb
    Statistical Society of Australia
  • Dr Tara Roberson
    ARC Centre of Excellence for Engineered Quantum Systems
  • Professor Corey Tutt
    Deadly Science
  • Kate Callaghan
    Astronomical Society of Australia
  • Mr Mark Stickells (Chair)
    Pawsey Supercomputing Research Centre
  • Jasmine Chambers
    Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
  • Mark Bazzacco
    Chief Operations, Defence Science and Technology Group (DSTG)
  • Dominic Canstrari-Soh
    Senior Manager, Enterprise Risk, EY
  • Professor Mark Hutchinson
    Science & Technology Australia President, and Centre for Nanoscale BioPhotonics (CNBP)
  • Misha Schubert
    Chief Executive Officer – Science & Technology Australia
  • Dr Sandra Gardam
    Deputy Chief Executive Officer - Science & Technology Australia


Jeremy Brownlie (2019-2021) Deputy Head of School and Molecular Geneticist at Griffith University

Emma Johnston (2017 -2019), then Dean of Science and Professor of Marine Ecology and Ecotoxicology, University of New South Wales

Jim Piper (2015-2017), then Research Leader at the Centre for Nanoscale BioPhotonics and former Deputy Vice Chancellor, Macquarie University

Ross Smith (2013-2015), then Director of environmental consulting company Hydrobiology.

Michael Holland (2011-2013), then Deputy Head of the School of Veterinary Science at the University of Queensland.

Cathy Foley (2009-2011), then Deputy and Science Director, CSIRO Manufacturing. Later became Chief Scientist of Australia.

Ken Baldwin (2007-2009), then Deputy Director, Research School of Physics and Engineering, Professor, Australian National University.

Tom Spurling (2005 - 2007), former CEO of the CRC for Wood Innovations; Professor, Swinburne University of Technology and member of the CSIRO Board.

Snow Barlow (2003-2005), Professor of Horticulture and Viticulture, University of Melbourne.

Chris Fell (2001-2003), former Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of New South Wales.

Peter Cullen (March-November 2001) then Director, CRC for Freshwater Ecology, Canberra; Wentworth Group of Scientists.

Sue Serjeantson (1999-March 2001), then Deputy Vice Chancellor - Australian National University.

Peter Cullen (1997-1999), then Director, CRC for Freshwater Ecology, Canberra.

Joe Baker (1995-1997), former ACT Commissioner for the Environment; Director of AIMS and Chief Scientist, Queensland.

Graham Johnston (1993-1995), then Professor of Pharmacology, University of Sydney.

Ditta Bartels (1991-93), then Counsellor for Science and Technology, Australian Embassy, Bonn.

Tony Wicken (1989-1991), then Professor of Microbiology, UNSW, formerly Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic Affairs) UNSW.

Frank Larkins (1987-89), then Professor of Chemistry, University of Tasmania, and also a former Deputy Vice Chancellor (International) University of Melbourne.

Fred Smith (1985-87), then Professor of Physics, Monash University and a former Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research) La Trobe University.